The brioche recipe…. because mummy Peggy is craving for it!

28 Feb

As my nephew Marin was coming in London for an extended week-end, I decided to prepare a nice brioche for his arrival on Saturday morning.

I got that recipe from my friend Alexia who has been trying it a few times at Cafe Divertimenti where we work together. As she has been working for Angelina and has a pastry background much more extended than mine, I fully trusted her on that recipe especially after having tasted the brioche at stake (freshly baked and still slightly warm…. I know, I know, life is so hard in the kitchen…)!

Maybe I shouldn’t have posted those pictures… my brioches will look like disasters in comparison!

Ingredients:

  • 20/25g fresh yeast (summer/winter)
  • 75 ml whole milk (warm)
  • 75 g caster sugar
  • 500g strong white flour
  • a large pinch of salt
  • 200 g of butter cut into pieces
  • 250 g eggs, beaten

Start by stirring the yeast into the milk. If you use dried yeast leave it to stand for 5 minutes in warm milk.

Sift together the flour, salt and sugar. Then beat the eggs in and add the milk.

If you have a Kitchen Aid, using the hook, work the dough on the minimum speed to mix all the ingredients otherwise do it by hand on a clean sanitized surface.

Once the dough is getting uniform, add the butter one piece at a time and work it to a soft dough.

Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead it until smooth and no longer sticky.

Cover the dough with cling film and leave it to rise until it has doubled in size – about 1-1½ hours or overnight in a hot place (next to the heater for example).

Once the dough has risen, knock it back and

  • if you want to add some chocolate chip, pralines or any other nuts, knock back the dough with them to incorporate them equally in the dough.
  • if you want a big brioche divide the dough into 5 equal pieces. Shape the 5 pieces as balls and place them next to each other in a cake tin.
  • if you want to make small brioches or buns divide the dough into 50/60gr pieces and shape them into buns or into large and small balls that you will put on top of the large ones.

Cover your brioche(s) or buns and leave it/them to prove until light and puffy – at least 60 minutes.

Before baking, glaze it/them with beaten egg.

Bake it/them in a very hot oven preheated at 230° until golden brown.

It will take about 40 minutes for a big brioche and about 15-20 minutes for small brioches or buns.

Let them cool down on a wire rack and enjoy their taste straight away.

My nephew and husband were craving for chocolate buns then I have been very generous so that the buns were more looking like cookies inside with melting chocolate rather than buns but both of them seemed to be perfectly happy with the result….

I also used my muffin tin to cook the individuals brioche as I did not have the proper ones but I was pretty proud of the result in the end. Especially for a first try!

Last thing I tried was the “Brioche aux Pralines Roses” because my mum loves to buy some in our place in the countryside and the kids are always delighted to get a bite of pink brioche….!

My Praline rose did not work as well as I thought and I was a bit afraid of over filling the dough with it…. As a result, when my parents received the brioche my nephew brought them back on his way back home, my Dad said he liked it but that I should be more generous on the Pralines…!

Anyway, this recipe and its variations are dedicated to my friend Peggy…. Mum to be in a few week from now and still craving for freshly baked brioches…. Luckily, she’s living in Paris and just need to smile to her partner without even arguing that the baby needs a brioche for him to rush in the streets to one of the best Pâtissier and bring her back a delicious set of freshly baked brioches….

If you are not as lucky as she is – like me – I’ll let you try your own brioches from now on, shape them , fill them the way you want….

Have fun and don’t forget to cook them like “Pain perdu” if you have some leftover….!

One Response to “The brioche recipe…. because mummy Peggy is craving for it!”

  1. Le Cookie Masqué April 27, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    ah j’avais pas vu ce post, chouette !

Leave a Reply

