The Carrot Cake with Philadelphia Icing

4 Mar

I have to say it is because of that recipe that I started to think about creating a blog.

We had a dinner at home and when I announced that the dessert was a carrot cake with Philadelphia icing on top…. I saw all our men making strange and funny faces and already thinking that I should stick to my basics i.e. the chocolate cake or the pistachio financiers!

Anyway, I did not let them time to say they did not have any place left for dessert and served them a small portion of the cake…. and told them as I’m used to tell my nieces and nephews “just to try”!

And they tried and they asked for more….

Since that day, Flo has been asking me week after week for my recipe and I promised her that I will create a blog with my recipes so that she can choose anything she’s in the mood for….

A few months later, as Flo is having a great time in LA and on the West Coast, I thought it was high time for me to write the recipe so that she has it when she returns from the U.S!

  • 250g finely grated carrot
  • 200g flour
  • 150g brown sugar
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 50g almond powder
  • 10g vanilla sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 table spoon of cinnamon
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 100ml of olive oil
  • 100ml of milk

Icing

  • 200g of Philadelphia
  • 4 tablespoon of icing sugar
  • 4 tablespoon of lemon juice

Preheat the oven at 180°

Mix all the dry ingredients together.

Add milk and oil.

Add the eggs 1 by 1 until the mix becomes smooth.

Add the carrots and stir again.

Pour it in a round mold and cook it for 40 min.

Let it cool down and put it upside down to have the bottom on top for the icing.

Whisk the Philadelphia with the icing sugar and the lemon juice, taste it and add lemon or sugar to get the taste you prefer. You just need to keep in mind that the icing has to be smooth but not liquid so that it makes a nice cover on the cake.

Spread the icing all over the cake and put it in the fridge for 1 hour.

If you want a thick icing you can add another layer of icing when the first one is cold. Just keep in mind that the icing is pretty sweet and that it may be too much sugar in the end…

The small ones….

Small Carrot Cakes glazed with Philadelphia

And the large one… for this one, I cooked three different layers and cut the top of two of them so that it be flat and easy to superpose…

IMG_0910

IMG_0916

3 Responses to “The Carrot Cake with Philadelphia Icing”

  1. G mail May 1, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    Cake yum, frosting yuk🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Key Lime Pie….. just for Elisabeth « Friends in the Kitchen - April 13, 2010

    […] which happened to be the Key Lime Pie and the Carrot Cake…. As you already know about the Carrot Cake that I will update later with more preparation pictures and also because I never ever tried the Key […]

  2. Nouvelle rubrique! « Evasion Gourmandine - July 5, 2012

    […] Recette tirée du blog “Friends in the kitchen” […]

Leave a Reply

