The Chocolate Fondant

2 Mar

Today is Monday and on Monday, we have girly sport session…. and healthy dinner afterward. But as I broke my chocolate cake yesterday, I decided to keep my 1000 broken pieces treasure in a Tupperware and to share all those calories with my sport buddies…. We have sport together, we eat calories together too!

As they asked me about the level of difficulty of that recipe, I had to admit that it was the lowest level…. this is one of my basics but also one of my favorite. All you have to take care is the cooking!

Ingredients

  • 200 g of dark chocolate
  • 200g of butter
  • 250g of sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon of flour

Nappage

  • 100g dark chocolate
  • 20cl of single cream

Methode

Preheat your oven at 180°

Put the chocolate and the butter in a bain-marie or in your microwave so that it melts.

Let it cool down a little and add the sugar. Stir it then add the eggs one by one and keep on stirring. Incorporate the flour and pour it in a round mold.

I used to think that silicon was my best friend until I broke my cake last Sunday but anyway, it is a better friend than the other one which usually keep half of the cake stuck in the bottom of the mold…..!

Cook it for 19 minutes and let it cool down. The cake as to be a little bit trembling in the middle but not to remain liquid when you get it out of the oven.

Chocolate Fondant

If you want to cover it with a chocolate nappage, take it upside down so that you have the most regular part on top.

Heat the cream and the chocolate, it has to be neither too liquid nor too thick so that you can spread it on top of the cake and on the heights.

You can add some decorations on your cake if it’s a special occasion.

But if you run out of time, just keep it simple… no nappage, no deco…. just the cake!

choc-cake-large-21

For that one it was still the same recipe but I did it twice….. and I put the cake on top upside down in order to have a flat surface to spread the chocolate on top.

In between, I just melted 100g of chocolate with 100g of double cream in a bain-marie.

I left it cool down and then I whisked it in order to have a creamy mixture that I spread on top of the first cake.

In the end, the cake look like some sort of big macaroon but it is definitely not as light!

img_0845

FONDANT AU CHOCOLAT

Ingrédients : pour un moule de 20cm de diametre

  • 200g de beurre
  • 200g de chocolat noir
  • 250g de sucre
  • 5 oeufs
  • 1 cas de farine

Méthode :

Préchauffez votre four à 180°.

Découper un cercle de papier sulfurisé de la taille du fond de votre moule et déposer le au fond du moule.

Faites fondre au bain-marie le chocolat et le beurre découpés en morceaux.

Fouettez les œufs et le sucre dans un grand bol jusqu’à ce que le mélange blanchisse.

Ajoutez la farine en pluie tout en battant.

Une fois le chocolat fondu, versez-le sur le mix œufs/sucre/farine et fouettez jusqu’à obtention d’une pate homogène.

Versez la préparation dans le moule et faites cuire 18 minutes.

Laissez le gâteau reposer et déguster tiède au à température ambiante avec une crème fouettée non sucrée, une boule de glace vanille ou un peu de crème anglaise.

Ce gâteau se conserve très bien au réfrigérateur 3-4 jours, quelques secondes au micro-ondes et il est prêt à déguster.

3 Responses to “The Chocolate Fondant”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Orange & Almond Tunisian Cake just for Chantal « Friends in the Kitchen - November 28, 2010

    […] party dinner in France. But as I was not too sure about the success of that recipe I also made some chocolate cakes just in […]

  2. Lemon & Raspberry Ricotta Mousse… so fresh! | Friends in the Kitchen - May 16, 2011

    […] the Chocolate Fondant to work on the timing of the […]

  3. Chocolate Festival « Friends in the Kitchen - January 26, 2013

    […] (you already know them, it was one of my first posts) […]

Leave a Reply

