Mardi Gras today….. Pancakes time!

24 Feb

Thousands of pancakes recipes exists and I never really chose one among them.

As I am most of the time unable to forecast anything, my favorite recipe is the one that does not imply a whole night of rest for the pancake mix….!

I found the following one and my husband tried it on a Sunday morning. Having Breton blood, HE was the one I need to be sure the pancakes where OK…. As he tried them with Maple Syrup as well as Nutella or even Butter and Sugar and in the end finished the little mountain I had prepared, I came to the conclusion that the pancakes where really good and that I had to report that recipe in my Recipes Book.

I did not prepare pancakes today (shame on me I know….!) because we are invited to celebrate Mardi Gras at my aunt Elisabeth’s tonight…. As she has a low ceiling, I will enjoy the pancake launch in her kitchen!

Anyway, her is my pancake recipe:

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1,5 to 2 cups of milk
  • 2 tablespoon of melted butter

Melt the butter

Mix all the dry ingredients

Whisk eggs and milk then add the butter

Mix all together until it is very homogeneous

Keep it a few hours in your fridge if possible

Whisk again when you want to use it

Heat a Tefal pan the size of the pancakes and grease it with butter or oil.

Pour the right among of liquid in the pan so that the liquid recover the whole surface of your pan, let it cook a little and cook it on the other side either. The pancake should not stick to your pan as you grease it well before….

Most of the time, the first, second and even the third pancakes does not look appealing but keep trying until you find the right amount of liquid and the right heat of the pan…. you’ll end up with very thin and golden pancakes….!

Eat them right away with sugar, jam, Nutella or freshly cut fruits and hot chocolate or keep them for later in your fridge with cling film on top of them. You can reheat them in the microwave or in the pan (not too hot…).

Leave a Reply

